Where the blog name comes from

Growing up is difficult to understand.
You keep on maturing and changing, the person you are twists and re-shapes and evolves, until the inner core of Will Soer aged 5 years old (I’m using myself as an example) is completely enveloped by an outer surface of your experiences and emotions and opinions. You don’t become a different person, it’s more that you grow another 80% of person ontop of your skin.

This makes interracting with your old friends and memories from youth a strange feeling; you know these kids better then anyone else, because you were such close friends with that inner-core of their personality, but these new layers of character that plaster their skin are alien to you. The same can be said of your hometown; you recognize the shape of the land and the buildings, but the people have changed or grown or left, and you’re walking with different feet, you’re 2 feet taller so you can literally see everything from a different perspective, and vast cold companies have taken over the shops and houses.

I grew up in the Hague, a city in the Netherlands. I lived there from the ages of 4-11 years old, basically my development as a child. I was then suddenly transplanted in England (where I’m originally from) I now think of England of my home, but experiencing memories from my childhood is always a wierd thing to me, and the process of moving away from certain friends and closer to other ones never stops.

There is only one artist of any medium, Film/Music/VideoGame/Book/etc that has ever been able to sum up this feeling of growing up away from your old hometown to me, and that’s Arcade Fire, on their album The suburbs.

The most significant song to me is called Suburban War. It talks of how the singer’s friends cut their hair, and were divided into tribes, and how, most importantly, “I search for you in every passing car.” That lyric is just so significant to me. The idea of trying to just get a glimpse of your old friends in each car you drive past, the desperate hope and helplessness to combat the inevitable change of growing up.

Here is the song:

