Jane Eyre

I really don’t like this book very much. I’m having to study it for English Literature alevel (anyone who thinks, as I did, they can just wing English alevel like you can for GCSE, deserves both cynicism and pity) and it is hardly a ‘hoot,’ down mainly to the eternally whining and naive protagonist.

However, I was just reading it and picking out extracts for an essay I need to write (or in other words, I was out getting smashed clubbing in London whilst enjoying recreational drug abuse, as all fashionable teenagers do in the evening, and I am ofcourse such a teenager, what with writing blogs about Victorian novels for fun and all) and I noticed this one extract which I find really impressive. I’m not the kind to pick out my favourite parts of books, especially since my attention-span is far too short for recreational reading to be a prospect, but this really stuck out for me, in the same way Morrissey’s best lyrics do, because it contains one of the best descriptions/comparisons I’ve ever heard.

Admittedly I did have to use the dictionary app on Microsoft word to understand it – the most important words are efface, which means to break, and bole, which is a word for a tree trunk – but once I did, I thought it was pretty neat.

“A rude noise broke on these fine ripplings [she was just describing the calmness of her surroundings] and whisperings, at once so far away and so near: a positive tramp, tramp; a metallic clatter, which effaced the soft wave-wanderings, as, in a picture, the solid mass of crag, or the rough boles of a great oak, drawn in dark and strong on the foreground, efface the aerial distance of azure hill, sunny horizon, and blended clouds, where tint melts into tint.”

I know very little about Charlotte Bronte, but that she came up with the idea of comparing a sound that breaks the calm of an afternoon to a tree that sticks out in a painting of a hill/horizon, is an example of a really powerful creative mind, and i think the idea alone is unique and fascinating enough to merit a blogpost.

Now, back to writing this sodding essay.

